Tour 2017 to City of Tours, on the Loire, France


Chateau de Chenonceau

Accommodation at the Hotel Ibis Budget
5 days, 4 nights B & B + 2 Evening Meals
Departure: 00:10hrs June 11th Return: c22:30 June 15th.
Included is
All travel and hotel plus
*Three high quality concerts in wonderful venues (Cathedrals, Chateau & Castles of the Loire Valley!).
*Fully comprehensive travel insurance
Cost £380 pp
Final Payment by 27 March 2017 (£180)
A few places are still available, please contact George Bunn or Tony H immediately if you want to join us.

Tour Schedule (Preliminary)
8 June 19:00 - 22:00 Tour Rehearsal St Andrew's Church
10 June am & pm Rehearsal, 19:30 Gala & Pre-Tour Concert venue St Andrew's Church
Day 1 Sunday 11 June
00:10hrs Load Coach & Depart for France via Eurotunnel
06:20 Check in Folkestone Eurotunnel depart 07:20
16:00hrs CET Arrive City of Tours, check in Hotel Ibis
Day 2 Monday 12 June
13:00hrs set up & sound check
14:30hrs Concert 1 Chateau de Chenonceau Carrefour des Cedres!
Day 3 Tuesday 13 June
13:00hrs set up & rehearsal
15:00hr Concert 2 Chapelle Royale du Chateau de Chambord
Day 4 Wednesday 14 June
17:00hrs set up & rehearsal
18:30hrs Concert 3 Cour des Ecuries at Chateau de Valencay
20:00hrs Vin d’Honneur & evening meal kindly offered by Monsieur le Maire de Valencay
Day 5 Thursday 15 June
09:15 Depart Tours after breakfast for Sheffield via Eurotunnel
16:20 Check in Calais Eurotunnel depart 17:20
22:30hrs GMT ETA Music Department, Sheffield Fin

The Band


Victoria MacDonald

Flute 1

Alice Hughes, Alexandra Walton, Caitlin Washbourne

Flute 2

Ruth Gillies, Ben Topliss, Rebecca Hawkins

Oboe 1

Arron Lord, Emily Heaphy (Cor Anglais)

Oboe 2

Luke Hawtin

Bassoon 1

Jonathan Taylor-Mew

Bassoon 2

Tristan Fanning

Eb Clarinet

Alasdair McComb (+Cl.1)

Clarinet 1

Ellie Haynes, Jonathan Eyre, Amy Thomas, Emily Doyland

Clarinet 2

Gemma Appleton, Joanna Booth, Hannah Horsewill, George Bunn

Clarinet 3

Laura Barlow, Matt Oxley

Alto Clarinet

Alex Lyon (+Cl.2)

Contra-Alto Clarinet

Emily Lancashire (+Cl.3)

Alto Saxophone 1

Jonny Poole

Alto Saxophone 2

Jothi Venkatesh

Tenor Saxophone 1

Toska Wonfor

Tenor Saxophone 2

Megan Armson

Baritone Saxophone

Emily Overend

Trumpet 1

Natasha Fretwell (+Cornet), Dylan Leyland

Trumpet 2

Tom Cowling, James Wells

Trumpet 3

Hannah Jones, Gerry Simpson

Trombone 1

Freya Riding

Trombone 2

James Booth (+Trumpet), Hannah Crawford

Bass Trombone

Katy Surridge


Daniel Morgan


Matthew Cannon

String Bass

Stuart Land


Andy Sales

Tour Repertoire

49th Parallel (V Williams)
Bravura (Graham)
Chorale Prelude (Cesar Frank)
Comedian's Galop (Khachaturian)
ENGLISH FOLKSONG SUITE (Ralph Vaughan Williams)
Elegia (Wouter Lenaerts)
FIRST SUITE for BAND (Gustav Holst)
Fanfare for the Common Man (Aaron Copland)
Irish Tune & Shepherd's Hey (Percy Aldridge Grainger)
Jungle Book (Scherman Brothers)
MOMENT for MORRICONE (Ennio Morricone)
SPANISH DANCE (Dmitri Shostakovich)
The Horsefly (Cornet Trio) (Cy Payne)
West Side Story (Leonard Bernstein arr Duthoit)
When the Stars Begin to Fall (Anon)
Yorkshire Overture (Philip Sparke)

© Widdowson & Hemingway 2016